Alkaline Grain Sushi

suushi susshi

Many of my meat-eating friends love this recipe – they said the ‘rice stuff’ is nice and sticky like sushi rice and that the miso paste sauce was ‘the best sauce they have ever tasted’ – well, I thought to myself, this recipe is worth sharing…

Ingredients

Sushi
10 nori sheets
1 cup cooked quinoa
1 cup cooked millet (I used brown rice here but I MUCH prefer millet, it has more of a gooey sticky sushi rice texture)
1 tsp high quality sea salt + black pepper

Fillings
Red bell pepper
Cucumber
Kale
Dulse
Zucchini
Carrots
Purple cabbage
Raw sauerkraut

Toppings
Avocado
Nigella sativa seeds
Sesame + flaxseeds
Asian miso sauce (recipe below)

Asian Miso Sauce
1/4 unpasteurised miso paste – the darkest one you can find
1 cup filtered water
2 Tbsp raw, unfiltered apple cider vinegar
Juice of 1/2 lime
2 garlic cloves
1 spring onion
Fresh ginger root – about a thumb’s length
Dash of cayenne pepper to taste
Salmon flavoured tahini: 4 Tbsp dark flaxseeds, 2 Tbsp sesame seeds or dark tahini, 1 tsp low sodium tamari (the tamari is optional)

I had no idea what a fishy taste the dark flax seeds would add!?

I had no idea what a fishy taste the dark flax seeds would add!?

sushileftovers

Sushi left overs make me so happy the next day

sushiseetup sushi

Leave a comment