Pumpkin & Squash soup

Warming.

Creamy.

Comforting.

Hint of spice.

Slightly sweet.

Subtle autumn flavours.

The ultimate taste of fall kinda soup.

IMG_0702

 

Ingredients

Soup

1/2  medium-large pumpkin

1 large acorn/ winter/ butternut squash (I used winter squash here but butternut is definitely my favourite! Nice n’ sweet!)

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 cup filtered water (use 2 cups if you like your soups runny – I like mine quite thick as you can see from the picture)

2 celery stalks (optional but I like them in here)

2 large carrots (optional but they add a subtle sweetness)

1 Tbsp organic grade C maple syrup

2 Tbsp raw, organic, unfiltered apple cider vinegar (optional to stir in once cooked. I like it for the tang)

4 garlic cloves

1 sweet onion

2 inches fresh ginger root

1 tsp turmeric

1 tsp black or cayenne pepper

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp sea salt

2 whole cloves

1/4 tsp coriander

 

Vegetable chips

Asparagus

Parsnips

Carrots

White potato

Suede

Sweet potato (I used long, thin ones – they were perfect as dippers!)

1 lemon

Fresh rosemary and thyme

Salt and pepper to taste

1 red onion (optional – I like it for a nice topping of crispy onions rings)

 

Instructions

Soup

Chop: all veg up into small chunks or mince them if they are to sauté.

Sauté: sweet onion, garlic cloves, and spices in 3 Tbsp vegetable broth or 1 Tbsp coconut/ carotene/ avocado oil.

Add in: celery, carrots, and 1 cup of water. Cook on medium heat for 5-10 minutes.

Add in: squash and pumpkin 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk. Cook for 30 minutes. Stir occasionally.

Add in: extra spices of water for desired spiciness and consistency. Keep cooking until the vegetables melt into a soup, the flavours come out, and the desired consistency is met.

THE EASY WAY:

This is the way I did it, as, at uni, I don’t have the time to cook ironically.

I just left my veg in the oven at 180 degrees while I was in my lectures, came home, and blended it with all the herbs and spices and liquids I wanted.

IMG_0406

 

IMG_0459

IMG_0690

 

I made mine so thick it turned into a dip after refrigerating!

IMG_0692

 

But I do recommend using the original method, there’s just something about sautéing then slow cooking over a stove, the flavours come out just ugh!

Chips

Preheat oven to 200 degrees celcius.

Slice vegetables into wedges or chips.

Massage herbs, spices, lemon juice or apple cider vinegar, oil or no oil, and lots of salt and pepper, onto all of the vegetables.

Cook sweet potatoes and parsnips first as these take the longest. Bake for approximately one hour – until very well cooked and golden. I like to cook my sweet potato with cinnamon and nutmeg too.

White potato and suede chips recipe is here.

Lastly, bake asparagus and sliced carrots until juicy and crispy!

Nice’n’easy.

Enjoy my beauties, for this wholesome, nutritious, beautifying dinner will satisfy you on many levels!

Leave a comment